Rooted in Reason: Nurturing the Seeds of Liberty


The Akaka Bill Land Issue: My House by grassroothawaii
February 23, 2010, 9:17 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , ,

By Hideo Hikida

I’m usually not the one writing about the Akaka Bill on this blog–Dick Rowland usually is–mainly because like some of you, I’m not as educated as I’d like to be on the tenets of the Akaka Bill. For those living in Hawaii however, the Akaka Bill is probably one of the most important pieces of legislation today. I know that it’s a bill that if passed, is going to make sweeping changes to the Hawaii we know today, with the potential to change the very nature in which we all live.

Like I said before, I’m not as privvy to the details of the Akaka Bill as our very own Dick Rowland, however, I came across a map the other day that shows how much land would be up for re-negotiation if the bill would pass. It doesn’t take a genius to figure out that the lands that are up for grabs for the “new” Hawaiian government covers a pretty expansive area. According to the map, the Pearl Harbor/Aiea/Pearl City/Airport areas would be up for grabs?! Now I know that the land is only going to be up for negotiation, but doesn’t that open the door for a potentially enormous pay-out for the newly established Hawaii Sovereign? I also noticed that another area that would be up for grabs looks to be in the neighborhood of the Makiki/Lower Punchbowl area…I live in that area! If this bill passes, looks like my right to own property just got punted out the door.

So to those of you who think “Ah, this isn’t going to affect me all that much.”  Think again. The effects of this bill, if passed are far reaching. So do yourself a favor, check out the final text of the bill that was released today. Get educated and call, write, telegram, email, singing-telegram, candy-gram, Morse code, sign, text message, whatever! Just get in touch with your State Representatives, (in Hawaii’s case this dude, or her ) and tell them how this bill would affect you.

If anything, do it for me. My dog would kill me if we had to move.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

And it passed the House today – 245-164. What is our recourse now? I don’t want your dog to be angry with you, Hideo!

Comment by giliar

We just added you to our blogroll!

Comment by grassroothawaii

This entire Akaka Bill thing is bogus. The native people making claims to lands that were legally relinquished to the United States are NOT A TRIBE. To try and wrangle things so that these people would legally be recognized as a tribe is a direct insult to my own Native American ancestors!

Furthermore, there are far more insidious intentions underlying this bill – and Dan Akaka is certainly no “friend” to the native Hawaiian population. Legislators really need to do some serious research on matters like this before they go casting their votes.

Comment by RG




Leave a Reply (Comments are approved by a moderator before they are posted.)

